top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaggie

What is the most effective Lubrication Oil to Use in a World War 2 Jeep?

Throughout the war years the options were restricted to mono-weighted lubrication. The "ideal" selection is to use what the manufacturers required making use of. In the jeep's situation it was 10 weight in temps below 32F but above 10 levels F and 30 weight for temperatures over 32 levels F.



There are individuals that have experience auto racing and reconstructing contemporary engines the recommend more unique mixtures of lube, such as, 20w50. I will not argue the factor right here however just know that the greater the viscosity (the weight number) the higher the friction ... I understand oil is so slippery, it is tough to consider it as producing friction! The higher the rubbing the greater the warm that is created. Whether this is cause for concern is left up to you to choose-- at least until we can an automotive lubrication designer to comment.


When it comes to me, I make use of Mobil Oil as it covers both weights originally required by the supplier to service the engine.


Gear oil? Stick with 90w. It is what the producer recommended. Steer clear of from greater phoned number weights. Back to the friction thing. I did get a lubrication designer to discuss tailoring and also lube. He was able to verify through some lengthy estimations that the greater the viscosity the better the heat that is produced in a given gear set. Big deal? Generate enough warmth and also you can harm the tailoring teeth. Sadly, I verified the professional proper with my jeep. I had made use of 140w lube oil based upon the suggestions of the "experts" on line. The collection gear in my T-84J transmission lost teeth and damaged various other gears in the case.




Brand names? I do not assume it actually matters. I do stick to "name" brands and also steer clear of from home brands at discount or grocery store kind shops. The only exception and afterwards just in locations that meet particular requirements would I use specialized oils. Amsoil develops an excellent product yet I think it is unnecessary unless you stay in parts of the world with severe temperatures. When I lived in North Post, Alaska with wintertime temperatures dipping to -45 F (as well as lower!) we all appeared to use synthetics and also Amsoil was one of the most preferred at the time. We made use of synthetics everywhere-- engine, transmission, and also transfer instance. I guess the other extreme (warmth) would be a great location to make use of these oils as well.

bottom of page